From The TV IV
(Redirected from BBC1)
Jump to: navigation, search
Founded November 1936
President Peter Fincham (Controller)
Company BBC
Notable Series Doctor Who
A Question of Sport
Movie Projector Icon.gif This article about a network needs to be expanded with more information.
Please help out by editing it.

BBC One (until 1964 the BBC Television Service) is a network of the BBC. It was the first regular high-definition television service in the world and is tuned to channel 1 on almost all British television sets. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own versions of BBC One, though these mostly rebroadcast the output from the main network with their own local continuity. The channel is completely funded by the license fee and therefore there is no commercial advertising.


  • 1936–1939: Gerald Cock
  • 1946–1947: Maurice Gorham
  • 1947–1950: Norman Collins
  • 1950–1957: Cecil McGivern
  • 1957–1961: Kenneth Adam
  • 1961–1963: Stuart Hood
  • 1963–1965: Donald Baverstock
  • 1965–1967: Michael Peacock
  • 1967–1973: Paul Fox
  • 1973–1977: Bryan Cowgill
  • 1977–1981: Bill Cotton
  • 1981–1984: Alan Hart
  • 1984–1987: Michael Grade*
  • 1987–1992: Jonathan Powell
  • 1992–1996: Alan Yentob
  • 1996–1997: Michael Jackson
  • 1997–2000: Peter Salmon
  • 2000–2005: Lorraine Heggessey
  • 2005–2007: Peter Fincham*
  • 2007–2008: Roly Keating (acting)
  • 2008–Present: Jay Hunt