Australian Broadcasting Corporation

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Australian Broadcasting Corporation
240px-Australian Broadcasting Corporation svg.png
Founded 1929 (as Australian Broadcasting Company)
President James Spigelman
Notable Works
Official Site ABC
ABC corporate
Movie Projector Icon.gif This article about a company needs to be expanded with more information.
Please help out by editing it.

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) is the state-owned national broadcaster in Australia.

The ABC runs five national radio networks and a chain of locally-oriented radio stations branded as ABC Local Radio, four television networks, and several cable and satellite channels.

The ABC was founded in 1929 as the privately-owned Australian Broadcasting Company, the country's first radio network. The Australian government acquired the network on July 1, 1932 and renamed it as the Australian Broadcasting Commission. The ABC launched its television service, ABC Television (now known as ABC, not to be confused with the American network), on November 5, 1956. The company received its present name in 1983.

The ABC's iconic logo, the lissajous oscilloscope pattern, was first used in the 1950s, not as a logo, but as interstitial filler in between programs on ABC Television. The lissajous became the official ABC logo in 1965,[1] and beginning in 1975 with the introduction of color television in Australia, the logo underwent several modifications over the years until taking its present form in 2002.[2]

Television Channels

  • ABC (Over-the-air; airs general entertainment, news/current affairs and sports)
  • ABC Comedy (Digital only; comedy programming; formerly ABC2 until December 4, 2017)
  • ABC Me (Digital only; children's programming; formerly ABC3 until September 2016)
  • ABC Kids (Digital only; children's programming; formerly ABC4 until August 27, 2011 - air time with ABC Comedy)
  • ABC News (Digital only; 24-hour news channel)

Cable Television

External Links