Beavis and Butt-Head/The Mike Judge Collection, Volume 1

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Mike Judge Collection, Volume 1
Beavis and Butt-Head
Beavis and Butt-Head Vol1 DVD.jpg
Release Date November 8, 2005
Format DVD
Region 1
Distributor Paramount Home Video
Disc Count 3
Episode Count 40
Running Time 214 minutes
Retail Price $39.95
Video 4:3 (1.33:1 Television)
Audio English: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
Next Volume The Mike Judge Collection, Volume 2



Beavis and Butt-Head: The Mike Judge Collection, Volume 1 is a DVD box set for Beavis and Butt-Head. It is the first of three volumes of DVDs that feature episodes handpicked by the show's creator, Mike Judge. It features a total of 40 episodes, along with music videos that are watched by Beavis and Butt-Head and a handful of special features. The episodes come from the show's second, third, fourth and fifth seasons. The box set was first released in the US on November 8, 2005, and spans 3 discs. The following information applies to the Region 1 US DVD release.

Disc Breakdown

Episodes marked with * are director's cuts (see more info about them below).

Disc One


Disc Two


Disc Three

Special Features

  • Music Videos:
    • Matthew Sweet: Superdeformed
    • Pantera: This Love
    • Moist: Push
    • Deus: Suds & Soda
    • Grim Reaper: Fear No Evil
    • Monster Magnet: Negasonic Teenage Warhead
    • Korn: Blind
    • Catherine Wheel: Waydown
    • Beastie Boys: Pass the Mic
    • Wilco: Box Full of Letters
    • Hum: Stars
  • Taint of Greatness: The Journey of Beavis and Butt-Head, Part 1
  • Special appearances:
    • 1994 Video Music Awards (2 parts)
    • 1994 Video Music Awards with David Letterman
    • 1996 Video Music Awards
    • Thanksgiving Special with Kurt Loder (9 segments)
  • Promos: Clinton promo, Waco promo, Dumb Fun in the Sun promo
  • Montages: Terms of Endearment, Greatest Hits

Special Features

  • Taint of Greatness: The Journey of Beavis and Butt-Head, Part 1 documentary
  • Special appearances from various MTV shows
  • Promos
  • Two Montages

Easter Eggs

  • Short: On Disc One, highlight Cartoons and push up. A lightning bolt will be selected, choose that. You will see a short.
  • Short: On Disc Two, highlight Cartoons and push up. A lightning bolt will be selected, choose that. You will see an extended scene from Tainted Meat.

Alterations and Review

This set has met with much criticism by fans, especially on The overall rating for this compiliation there is 2.5/5 stars.

Much of the criticism centers around some key factors: the fans seem to want Season Box sets, not "best of" compiliations, the skits shown often have missing footage that the aired footage includes, and there are 5 minutes of commercials on each disc before the menu is displayed. Despite these flaws, the collection has much to its credit, including a generous amount of special features.

This DVD release includes 40 episodes from the series (which ran a total of 200 episodes). However, fans have pointed out that some of them have been altered from their original aired versions; footage is missing from several skits, including:

1-900 Beavis

Late Night with Butt-head (an intro with David Letterman is removed)

Figure Drawing

Held Back

Tainted Meat