Brideshead Revisited

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Brideshead Revisited
Premiere October 12, 1981
Finale December 22, 1981
Creator Evelyn Waugh (novel)
John Mortimer (adapted for TV)
Network/Provider ITV
Style 50- to 100-minute historic drama miniseries
Company Granada Television
Episodes 11
Origin UK

Brideshead Revisited is a historic drama miniseries that aired on ITV and was rebroadcast on the CBC in Canada and PBS in the United States as part of the Great Performances series. Based on the Evelyn Waugh novel of the same name, it follows the lives of two young men who meet at Oxford College through the early decades of the 20th century



Actor Character
Billed Cast
Jeremy Irons Charles Ryder
Anthony Andrews Sebastian Flyte
Diana Quick Julia Flyte
Simon Jones Lord Brideshead
Phoebe Nicholls Cordelia Flyte
Claire Bloom Lady Marchmain
Laurence Olivier Lord Marchmain
John Gielgud Edward Ryder
Charles Keating Rex Mottram
Jeremy Sinden Boy Mulcaster
Mona Washbourne Nanny Hawkins
John Grillo Mr. Samgrass
Nickolas Grace Anthony Blanche
Jane Asher Celia Ryder
Stéphane Audran Cara


# Title Airdate
1 Et in Arcadia Ego October 12, 1981
2 Home and Abroad October 20, 1981
3 The Bleak Light of Day October 27, 1981
4 Sebastian Against the World November 3, 1981
5 A Blow upon a Bruise November 10, 1981
6 Julia November 17, 1981
7 The Unseen Hook November 24, 1981
8 Brideshead Deserted December 1, 1981
9 Orphans of the Storm December 8, 1981
10 A Twitch upon the Thread December 15, 1981
11 Brideshead Revisited December 22, 1981


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Complete Series
25th Anniversary Collector's Edition October 10, 2006 4


External Links