Site Migration

The server migration is on hold. Check here for more info.

Dave's World

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Dave's World
Daves World-Cast.jpg
Premiere September 20, 1993
Finale June 20, 1997
Creator Fred Barron
Network/Provider CBS
Style 30-minute sitcom
Company Axelrod/Widdoes Entertainment
Fred Barron Productions (seasons 1-2),
Kitten in the Oven Productions (seasons 1-2),
Livestock Productions (seasons 3-4),
Verbatim Productions (seasons 3-4)
CBS Entertainment Productions (seasons 1-2),
CBS Productions (seasons 3-4)
Seasons 4
Episodes 98 (1 unaired)
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Dave's World is a sitcom that aired on CBS.

The show focuses on the daily trials and tribulations of columnist Dave Barry (Harry Anderson) and his wife, Beth (DeLane Matthews) along with their sons, Tommy (Zane Carney) and Willie (Andrew Ducote). Dave worked at the fictional Miami Record-Dispatch where Kenny Beckett (Shadoe Stevens) was his editor although Dave typically worked from home where Mia (J.C. Wendel) was his assistant. Neighbor Sheldon Baylor (Meshach Taylor) was a successful plastic surgeon and Dave's best friend from high school. Starting in the second season, the Barrys hired Eric (Patrick Warburton) to do some work on their house which led to Eric and Mia dating and eventually moving next door to the Barrys and getting married. Later in the series, Dave completes a book based on his and his friends' lives during the sixties, and Shel loses all of his money when his business manager runs off. Kenny is also fired from the newspaper and becomes a weatherman.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast
Harry Anderson Dave Barry * * * *
DeLane Matthews Beth Barry * * * *
Meshach Taylor Shel Baylor * * * *
Shadoe Stevens Kenny Beckett * * * *
Zane Carney Tommy Barry * * * *
Andrew Ducote Willie Barry * * * *
Patrick Warburton Eric * * * *
J.C. Wendel Mia * * * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One September 20, 1993 May 2, 1994 23
Season Two September 12, 1994 May 22, 1995 25
Season Three September 13, 1995 May 20, 1996 26
Season Four September 13, 1996 June 20, 1997 24


DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region 1)
The First Season August 12, 2008 purchase 3
The Second Season February 3, 2009 purchase 3
The Third Season July 24, 2012 purchase 3

External Links