Disney Junior (block)

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Disney Junior
Started May 8, 1997 (as Playhouse Disney)
February 14, 2011 (renamed Disney Junior)
Network Disney Channel
Time Weekdays 4AM-2PM
Weekends 4AM-9AM
Current Popular Series Jake and the Never Land Pirates,
Mickey Mouse Clubhouse,
Handy Manny,
Little Einsteins

Disney Junior (previously known as Playhouse Disney) is a daytime programming block on Disney Channel, targeting preschoolers.


The block premiered on May 8, 1997, as Playhouse Disney, during Disney Channel's move from premium to basic cable. During the first years, the block mainly included three original series Bear in the Big Blue House (puppetry), PB&J Otter (traditional animation) and Out of the Box (live action), alongside the Canadian import Rolie Polie Olie (CGI animation).

On September 9, 2002, it re-launched, getting a new logo, and more airtime, with several new series added over the following years: The Book of Pooh, Higglytown Heroes, Little Einsteins, Charlie and Lola, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Handy Manny, My Friends Tigger & Pooh, Special Agent Oso, and others.

On February 14, 2011, the name of the block was changed to Disney Junior. The same day, three new series begun airing: original series Jake and the Never Land Pirates, UK/Kenya import Tinga Tinga Tales and Canadian import Babar and the Adventures of Badou.

In 2012, Disney Junior became a 24/7 channel.