Site Migration

The server migration is on hold. Check here for more info.

Doogie Howser, M.D.

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Doogie Howser, M.D.
Doogie Howser-Cast.jpg
Premiere September 19, 1989
Finale March 24, 1993
Creator Steven Bochco &
David E. Kelley
Network/Provider ABC
Style 30-minute drama / comedy
Company Steven Bochco Productions,
20th Century Fox Television
Seasons 4
Episodes 97
Origin USA

Doogie Howser, M.D. is a drama / comedy that aired on ABC.

Dr. Douglas "Doogie" Howser is the son of David and Katherine Howser. As a child, he twice survived early-stage pediatric leukemia[1] after his father – a family physician – discovered suspicious bruising. The experience contributed to the younger Howser's desire to enter medicine.

Possessing a genius intellect and an eidetic memory, Howser participates in a longitudinal study of child prodigies until his 18th birthday. He earned a perfect score on the SAT at the age of six, completed high school in nine weeks at the age of nine, graduated from Princeton University in 1983 at age 10, and finished medical school four years later. At age 14, Howser was the youngest licensed doctor in the country. As a newspaper article (one of several noting some of Doogie's aforementioned accomplishments that are shown in the series' opening title sequence) stated, he "can't buy beer... [but] can prescribe drugs".



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast 1 2 3 4
Neil Patrick Harris Dr. Douglas "Doogie" Howser * * *
Max Casella Vinnie Delpino * * * *
Belinda Montgomery Katherine O'Brien Howser * * * *
Lawrence Pressman Dr. Benjamin Canfield * * * *
Kathryn Layng Nurse Mary Margaret "Curly" Spaulding * * * *
Mitchell Anderson Dr. Jack McGuire * *
Lisa Dean Ryan Wanda Plenn o * o
Lucy Boryer Janine Stewart o * * o
Markus Redmond Raymond Alexander * * *
James B. Sikking Dr. David Howser * * * *
Orange/Red/o indicates a recurring or guest role during that season.
Dark Green indicates top billing during that season.


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One September 19, 1989 May 2, 1990 26
Season Two September 12, 1990 May 1, 1991 25
Season Three September 25, 1991 May 13, 1992 24
Season Four September 23, 1992 March 24, 1993 22


DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region 1)
Season One March 22, 2005 4
Season Two September 6, 2005 4
Season Three January 17, 2006 4

External Links