Man vs. Wild

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Man vs. Wild
Man vs. Wild-Title.jpg
Premiere pilot
March 10, 2006
November 10, 2006
Finale November 29, 2011
Host Bear Grylls
Network Discovery Channel
Style 60-minute reality
Company Diverse Productions
Seasons 7
Episodes 67 + 11 specials
Origin USA

Man vs. Wild is a reality series broadcasted on Discovery Channel. In each episode, host Bear Grylls puts himself into dangerous survival situations and demonstrates extreme methods of survival using minimal amounts of tools. Among the locales he has thrust himself into for the show are a deserted island, a Costa Rican rainforest and the Moab Desert.

The series is commonly compared to Survivorman, a fellow survival reality series on Discovery. However, there as several key differences between the two shows. Most notably, Man vs. Wild employs two cameramen, whereas the host of Survivorman does all of the shooting himself without aid from any outside sources. However, Grylls insists that the cameramen are instructed that they are not to interfere unless he is in a life-threatening situation.

On July 24, 2007, the New York Post broke a story which alleged that Grylls was not actually staying in the makeshift shelters as indicated in the series. A survival consultant for the series rebuked Grylls' methods and told reporters that he stayed in luxurious nearby hotels while the cameras weren't rolling. Furthermore, he stated that many of the survivalist stunts were faked, including having professionals build a bamboo raft even though Grylls was shown building it in the episode.

Discovery, in response to this news, has said that future new episodes will fully disclose all elements of filming and will re-edit old episodes so that they are true to the actual occurrences.



Season Premiere Finale #
Discovery Channel
Season One October 27, 2006 July 20, 2007 15
Season Two November 9, 2007 June 6, 2008 13 + special
Season Three August 6, 2008 February 16, 2009 11 + 2 specials
Season Four August 12, 2009 February 17, 2010 14 + special
Season Five August 11, 2010 September 22, 2010 6
Season Six February 17, 2011 March 24, 2011 6
Season Seven July 11, 2011 August 26, 2011 6


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
Season 1, Part 1
Amazon DVD-R
December 20, 2007 6


Man vs. Wild
Season One, only available at Discovery store
July 2007 4

Season 2 January 13, 2009 3


Season 3 August 18, 2009 3


Episode Collections
Collection 1 May 13, 2008 2


Stranded Around the World February 23, 2010 1


External Sites