Angelic Layer

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Angelic Layer
Angelic layer.png
Premiere April 1, 2001
Finale September 23, 2001
Creator CLAMP
Network/Provider TV Tokyo
Style 30-minute science fiction anime
Company BONES
Seasons 1
Episodes 26
(List of episodes)
Origin Japan

Angelic Layer is an action anime program based on a manga published by Kadokawa Shoten starting in 1999. While most works by CLAMP are in the shōjo (girl's) genre, Angelic Layer is actually a shōnen (boy's) story in the vein of competition-based series like Yu-Gi-Oh! and Pokémon.

The series follows the adventures of a young girl named Misaki Suzuhara, who has just moved to Tokyo to attend junior high school. On her arrival, she becomes interested in Angelic Layer, a game where mechanical dolls controlled by the will of their owner do battle in popular tournaments. Misaki moves her way up through the ranks, spurred on by her school friends and an eccentric man named Icchan, who unbeknownst to Misaki is the creator of the Angelic Layer system. Along the way Misaki earns the respect of her competitors and learns the truth about her family's connection to Angelic Layer.



Japanese Voices English Voices Character
Main Cast
Atsuko Enomoto Jessica Boone Misaki Suzuhara
Masaya Onosaka Andy McAvin Ichiro Mihara
Yuri Shiratori Sasha Paysinger Hatoko Kobayashi
Jun Fukuyama Kevin Corn Kotaro Kobayashi
Satsuki Yukino Monica Rial Tamayo Kizaki
Kotono Mitsuishi Kelly Manison Shoko Asami
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Souichiro Hoshi Chris Patton Ohjiro Mihara
Kana Ueda Mariela Ortiz Ringo Seto
Ayako Kawasumi Tiffany Terrell Kaede Saito
Houko Kuwashima Tiffany Grant Sai Jonochi


Season  Premiere Finale #
TV Tokyo
Season One April 1, 2001 September 23, 2001 26


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Episode Collections : Region 1
Volume 1: Divine Inspiration October 14, 2003 1

Volume 2: On a Wing and a Player November 25, 2003 1

Volume 3: Idol Worship January 6, 2004 1

Volume 4: Faith, Hope & Love February 17, 2004 1

Volume 5: Deus ex Machina March 30, 2004 1

Volume 6: Inherit the Layer May 11, 2004 1

Volume 7: Seventh Heaven June 22, 2004 1

DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites