Big Brother (Australia)

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Big Brother
Premiere April 23, 2001
Finale November 26, 2014
Creator John de Mol
Host Gretel Killeen
Network/Provider Network Ten (seasons 1-8)
Nine Network (seasons 9-11)
Style 60-minute competitive reality
Company Southern Star,
Seasons 11
Episodes 500
Origin Australia
It's time to go...

Big Brother is a summer show that airs annually in Australia. In it, a group of people enter a house and agree to live there for a predetermined amount of days with cameras following their every move. An homage to George Orwell's book, 1984, the nameless entity known only as "Big Brother" records every conversation and every action amongst these group of people, establishing a social microcosm of today's world.

However, beyond the voyeuristic aspect of it also lies a game. Every week, usually on Mondays, housemates are asked to nominate two people for eviction. The three or more housemates with the highest number of nominations for eviction are put up for eviction, and the public gets to vote on which of the housemates they would like to evict. In a special weekly live eviction episode, usually on Sundays and hosted by Gretel Killeen, the housemate who receives the highest percentage of votes gets evicted from the Big Brother house.

This process of nominations and evictions continue until there are three people left in the house, upon which all of them are put up for nomination. The public then votes for who they want to win, and the housemate with the highest percentage of votes wins the game and receives a cash prize.

For information on the Big Brother franchise, please refer to the Big Brother franchise page.



Season  Premiere Finale #
Network Ten
Season One April 23, 2001 July 16, 2001
Season Two April 8, 2002 July 1, 2002
Season Three April 27, 2003 July 21, 2003
Season Four May 2, 2004 July 262004
Season Five May 8, 2005 August 15, 2005
Season Six April 22, 2006 July 31, 2006
Season Seven April 22, 2007 July 30, 2007
Season Eight April 28, 2008 July 21, 2008
Season Nine August 13, 2012 November 7, 2012
Season Ten July 29, 2013 November 6, 2013
Season Eleven September 8, 2014 November 26, 2014


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites