Count Duckula

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Count Duckula
Count Duckula-Logo.jpg
Premiere September 6, 1988
Finale February 16, 1993
Network ITV
Style 30-minute animated comedy
Company Cosgrove Hall Films
Seasons 4
Episodes 65 + 2 crossovers
Origin UK

Count Duckula was one of Cosgrove Hall's most popular cel animated show after Danger Mouse, and the show was popular with viewers of all ages. Attractive to look at, wonderfully voiced, and often brilliantly written, Duckula took all the best aspects of Dangermouse and improved on them, making it one of the best cartoons in the Cosgrove Hall portfolio.

The show was a loose parody of the story of Count Dracula. Set in Transylvania, Duckula lived in a spooky castle, alongside his servant Igor, and his Nanny (always referred to as "Nanny" and perpetually in an arm sling). All the characters in the show were birds. Igor had set about reviving a new Duckula through a ceremony taking place when the moon is the eighth house of Aquarius, and it required a vial of bat wing's blood. However, the addle-brained Nanny accidentally handed Igor a bottle of ketchup, and when he added it to the potation, Duckula emerged--as a star-struck vegetarian vampire. Igor would never live it down.

Vampire hunter Ludwig Von Goosewing comes from a long lineage of vampire hunters, and he sees the contemporary Duckula as a menace--vegetarian or not.

"Treasure Haunt" and "The Poultry-Geist," crossover episodes of Victor & Hugo: Bunglers In Crime with Count Duckula, aired October 9 and October 30, 1992. Victor and Hugo originally appeared as anthropomorphized birds on Count Duckula as Gaston and Pierre.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast
David Jason Count Duckula 1 2 3 4
Jack May Igor 1 2 3 4
Brian Trueman Nanny 1 2 3 4
Jimmy Hibbert Dr. Von Goosewing 1 2 3 4
Barry Clayton Narrator 1 2 3 4


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One September 6, 1988 March 21, 1989 26
Season Two September 12, 1989 January 23, 1990 19
Season Three October 22, 1990 January 21, 1991 13
Season Four January 5, 1993 February 16, 1993 7


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
The Complete First Season October 4, 2005 3

External Sites