From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere December 18, 2006
Finale April 27, 2007
Host Penn Jillette
Network/Provider NBC
Style 60-minute game show
Company Reveille Productions
Seasons 1
Episodes 12
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Identity is a game show that aired on NBC. Identity was created following an announcement that the 8:00PM primetime timeslot would be populated by inexpensive unscripted programming. It premiered on December 18, 2006 in a "week long event" which NBC found success with in the initial broadcast of Deal or No Deal.

In the series, contestants are presented with 12 people and a list of 12 identities. The contestant must determine which identity applies to which person based on nothing more than the subject's appearance. Like other game shows, they are given two chances to narrow down the choices. A contestant can use "Tri-dentity," which narrows the choices for one identity down to three but can not be used when 4 people are left or less. A player can also "ask the experts" how likely their guess is correct. Contestants can only use these helps once. Additionally, if the contestant makes the wrong guess, they are granted a "mistaken identity" which keeps them in the game after the first mistake.

Contestants can win between $1,000 and $500,000 based on how many correct guesses they make.


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One December 18, 2006 April 27, 2007 12