From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere August 27, 1992
Finale May 1, 1997
Creator John Bowman and
Martin Lawrence &
Topper Carew
Network/Provider FOX
Style 30-minute sitcom
Company You Go Boy! Productions,
HBO Independent Productions
Seasons 5
Episodes 132
Origin USA

Martin is a sitcom that aired on FOX.

Set in Detroit, Michigan, the series starred Martin Lawrence in the role of Martin Payne, a disc jockey with a girlfriend (soon-to-be wife) named Gina Waters. For the first two seasons, Martin worked for the fictional radio station WZUP and later for local Public-access television station Channel 51. A common theme of the series is Martin's hot-headed and rash nature; episodes often center on Martin's inconsiderate, yet smart-mouthed attitude towards his friends, neighbors, and whoever else might find themselves in his presence. When all is said and done, though, Martin loves his family and friends—it just takes dire situations to bring it to light. As the series progressed, plotlines saw Martin eventually move on to become the host of the talk show "Word on the Street," which aired on the small Detroit Public-access television station Channel 51. He retained this position until the series' final episode, in which he and Gina prepared to move to Los Angeles, from where his show would be syndicated nationally. The move coincided fortuitously with Gina's promotion by her boss Mr. Whitaker to head up his company's new Los Angeles headquarters, after having shut down the Detroit office.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast 1 2 3 4 5
Martin Lawrence Martin Payne * * * * *
Tisha Campbell Gina Waters * * * * *
Carl Anthony Payne II Cole Brown * * * * *
Thomas Mikal Ford Tommy Strong * * * * *
Tichina Arnold Pam James * * * * *
Garrett Morris Stan Winters * *
Jon Gries Shawn * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One August 27, 1992 May 13, 1993 27
Season Two August 22, 1993 May 15, 1994 27
Season Three September 1, 1994 May 18, 1995 27
Season Four September 9, 1995 May 2, 1996 27
Season Five September 5, 1996 May 1, 1997 24


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
The Complete First Season January 2, 2007 4


The Complete Second Season May 22, 2007 4


The Complete Third Season November 6, 2007 4


The Complete Fourth Season April 1, 2008 4


The Complete Fifth Season October 7, 2008 4


External Links