From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Fox Broadcasting Company
Founded October 9, 1986 (on-air operations)
April 5, 1987 (primetime launch)
President David Madden
Company Fox Corporation (Split off from 21st Century Fox on March 20, 2019)
Notable Series Bones
Hell's Kitchen
Family Guy
The Simpsons

FOX is an American broadcast television network under the ownership of Fox Corporation. It was founded on October 9, 1986, and is the fifth of the nation-wide terrestrial networks, alongside NBC, CBS and ABC, and succeeding the defunct DuMont network.



The Fox Broadcasting Company (regularly shortened to just FOX) is a national television network in the United States owned by the Fox Entertainment Company and, by proxy, Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation. The network spent twenty years building a reputation to rival the big three (ABC, NBC and CBS) national networks, beginning in March 1985 when Murdoch purchased half of 20th Century Fox studios only to buy the rest of the studio six months later. However, although the groundwork for the network began 1985, FOX wasn't officially launched until October 9, 1986 when the network began broadcast to 96 stations nationwide (comparatively, the big three had between 210 and 215 broadcast stations). Although the network was available in 80% of all homes, the only series broadcast was The Late Show Starring Joan Rivers.

FOX became the iconoclast in comparison to its competition, preferring to target young, hip audiences rather than the older demographic which the big three had appealed to because of familiarity. On April 5, 1987 the network premiered its first primetime shows: Married... with Children and The Tracey Ullman Show. By 1993, FOX expanded into a full week schedule of primetime shows. But, their mark wasn't made on the industry until the early 1990s when Murdoch's News Corporation (later 21st Century Fox) bought up more television station groups and outbid CBS for the rights to show NFC games of football. As the years went on, the network created more and more original programming targeted towards younger audiences, expanding into drama (The X-Files, Beverly Hills 90210, The O.C.), animation (The Simpsons, Futurama, Family Guy, King of the Hill), sketch comedy (In Living Color, The Ben Stiller Show, MADtv) and sitcoms (Malcolm in the Middle, That 70's Show, Arrested Development). Currently, the network can be seen in approximately 96.18% of all U.S. households.


Primetime Shows (2019-2020 Season)


New and returing series
Midseason series
Summer series (2019)
Sports coverage
Canceled/ended in 2018-2019


Late night shows


Non-primetime news

Current Primetime Schedule

Day 7:00 7:30 8:00 8:30 9:00 9:30
Monday 9-1-1 Prodigal Son
Tuesday The Resident Empire
Wednesday The Masked Singer Almost Family
Thursday Thursday Night Football
Friday WWE SmackDown
Saturday College Football
Sunday NFL Football The OT The Simpsons Bless the Harts Bob's Burgers Family Guy

Current Non-Primetime Schedule


Day 9:00 9:30 10:00 10:30 11:00 11:30
Saturday Weekend Marketplace
Sunday FOX News Sunday

Afternoon and Evening

FOX airs various sports on Saturday and Sunday afternoon throughout the year including MLB on FOX, NFL on FOX, and NASCAR on FOX. FOX has no weekday network programming outside of primetime.

Late Night

Day 11:00PM 11:30PM

Various repeats

FOX owned-and-operated stations

FOX owns and operates the following television stations under its Fox Television Stations division:

DMA Location Call Digital Virtual Network
1 New York City NY WNYW 44 5 FOX
2 Los Angeles CA KTTV 11 11 FOX
3 Chicago IL WFLD 31 32 FOX
4 Philadelphia PA WTXF-TV 42 29 FOX
5 Dallas/Ft. Worth TX KDFW 35 4 FOX
6 Washington D C WTTG 36 5 FOX
7 Houston TX KRIV 26 26 FOX
8 San Francisco/Oakland CA KTVU 44 2 FOX
9 Atlanta GA WAGA-TV 27 5 FOX
11 Phoenix AZ KSAZ-TV 10 10 FOX
13 Tampa/St. Petersburg FL WTVT 13 13 FOX
14 Detroit MI WJBK 7 2 FOX
15 Minneapolis/St. Paul MN KMSP-TV 9 9 FOX
18 Orlando FL WOFL 22 35 FOX
23 Charlotte N C WJZY 47 46 FOX
47 Austin TX KTBC 7 7 FOX
159 Ocala/Gainesville FL WOGX 31 51 FOX

Fox owned MyNetworkTV and independent stations

Fox owns the following MyNetworkTV and independent stations:

DMA Location Call Digital Virtual Affiliation
1 New York City NY WWOR-TV 38 9 My Network TV
2 Los Angeles CA KCOP-TV 13 13 My Network TV
3 Chicago IL WPWR-TV 51 50 The CW (My Network TV on .2)
5 Dallas/Ft. Worth TX KDFI 36 27 My Network TV
6 Washington DC WDCA 35 20 My Network TV
7 Houston TX KTXH 19 20 My Network TV
8 San Francisco/Oakland CA KICU 36 36 Independent
11 Phoenix AZ KUTP 26 45 My Network TV
12 Seattle WA KBSB 19 24 Independent
15 Minneapolis/St. Paul MN KFTC 29 29 My Network TV
18 Orlando FL WRBW 41 65 My Network TV
23 Charlotte N C WMYT 39 55 My Network TV

External Sites

Official website for FOX