The Powerpuff Girls (2016)

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Powerpuff Girls
The Powerpuff Girls (2016)-Title.jpg
Premiere April 4, 2016
Finale June 16, 2019
Airs various
Based on "The Powerpuff Girls" by
Craig McCracken
Developed by Nick Jennings,
Bob Boyle
Network Cartoon Network
Style 15-minute animated action
Company Cartoon Network Studios
Seasons 3
Episodes 122
Origin USA
Official Site Cartoon Network

The Powerpuff Girls is a reboot of The Powerpuff Girls, Cartoon Network's hit series (1998-2005) about three kindergarten-aged superheroes. Nick Jennings and Bob Boyle are executive producers. The original series was created by Craig McCracken. In this series, the girls are now in grade school (as a show-and-tell incident destroyed Pokey Oaks Kindergarten). Many of the original show's villains (Mojo Jojo, Him, the Gangreen Gang) appear as do new antagonists, like Man Boy, Bianca Bikini and the Derbytantes.

Season two presents a sibling for the girls. Bliss was a Powerpuff that the Professor created before and had gone into seclusion because she could not control her powers adequately. Bliss now patrols outer space with a galactic task force.

A crossover episode with Teen Titans Go!, titled "TTG v PPG," aired June 30, 2016. It is officially a Teen Titans Go! episode.

The show received an Emmy nomination (for the episode "Once Upon a Townsville") and an Annie nomination (for the music in "Home Sweet Homesick").



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast 1 2 3
Amanda Leighton Blossom * * *
Kristin Li Bubbles * * *
Natalie Palamides Buttercup * * *
Olivia Olson Bliss * *
Tom Kenny Narrator * * *
Mayor * * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Cartoon Network
Season One April 4, 2016 December 24, 2016 39
Season Two March 3, 2017 May 13, 2018 43
Season Three May 13, 2018 June 16, 2019 40


DVD Releases

There are no DVD releases for this show.

External Sites