The Twilight Zone

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Twilight Zone
The Twilight Zone-Title.jpg
Premiere October 1, 1959
Finale June 19, 1964
Creator Rod Serling
Host Rod Serling
Network CBS
Style 30-minute science fiction anthology
Company Cayuga Productions,
Distributor CBS Films/Enterprises (1964—1971)
Viacom Enterprises (1971—1995)
Paramount Domestic Television (1995—2006)
CBS Paramount Television (2006—2007)
CBS Television Distribution (2007—)
Seasons 5
Episodes 156
Origin USA
For other incarnations, see The Twilight Zone disambiguation page

The Twilight Zone was a popular half-hour science fiction show airing on CBS in the early 1960s, hosted by Rod Serling.

In its day, The Twilight Zone was considered part of the horror genre, though today it would most likely be classified as science fiction. The show's preferred method of scaring the audience was psychological; the viewer had no idea what turns could happen in an episode. The show revolutionized the television medium by introducing the twist ending. Though unlike most modern uses of the twist ending, Serling was careful to make sure that the twist was not for its own sake, as it usually showed irony with what had happened before.

In addition, The Twilight Zone is also noted for its moral messages that focused on humanity without delving into political messages. Today, The Twilight Zone has done a fabulous job of standing the test of time, not succumbing to looking aged, as other contemporary shows such as The Outer Limits did. This can probably be attributed to Serling's focus on psychological horror as opposed to the use of heavy special effects. The Twilight Zone's popularity has never waned, spawning two remake series as well as numerous knockoffs.

Cayuga Productions produced the series in association with CBS. CBS Television Distribution is the show's distributor.



Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One October 2, 1959 July 1, 1960 36
Season Two September 30, 1960 June 2, 1961 29
Season Three September 15, 1961 June 1, 1962 37
Season Four January 3, 1963 May 23, 1963 18
Season Five September 27, 1963 June 19, 1964 36

In Depth

DVD and Blu-ray Releases


Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region 1)
The Definitive Edition - Season 1 December 28, 2004 6
The Definitive Edition - Season 2 March 29, 2005 5
The Definitive Edition - Season 3 June 28, 2005 7
The Definitive Edition - Season 4 October 18, 2005 6
The Definitive Edition - Season 5 December 27, 2005 6


Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region A)
Season 1 September 14, 2010 purchase 5
Season 2 November 16, 2010 purchase 4
Season 3 February 15, 2011 purchase 5

External Sites