United States of Tara

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
United States of Tara
United States of Tara-Title.jpg
Premiere January 18, 2009
Finale June 20, 2011
Creator Diablo Cody
Network/Provider Showtime
Style 30-minute comedy
Company DreamWorks Television
Seasons 3
Episodes 36
Origin USA

United States of Tara is a dark comedy created by Diablo Cody, the Oscar-winning screenwriter who penned Juno, based on an idea from Steven Spielberg. Showtime president Robert Greenblatt described the series as "a sort of Weeds meets Sybil or The Three Faces of Eve."

The series stars Toni Collette as Tara Gregson, a wife and mother who suffers from dissociative identity disorder. Among her personalities are a 16-year-old burnout, an aggressive male biker and "a cake-baking Martha Stewart–like homemaker," all of which are liable to emerge at any time. Tara's family, meanwhile, attempt to lead a normal life in spite of her erratic behavior.

A pilot for the series was greenlit by Showtime in July 2007, and in June 2008, the network ordered a 12-episode season based on the final product, which aired in early 2009. Before the series had even reached its midway point, it was renewed for a second season.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast
Toni Collette Tara Gregson 1 2 3
John Corbett Max Gregson 1 2 3
Rosemarie DeWitt Charmaine Craine 1 2 3
Keir Gilchrist Marshall Gregson 1 2 3
Brie Larson Kate Gregson 1 2 3
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Patton Oswalt Neil 1 2 3
Matthew Del Negro Nick Hurley 1 2
Nathan Corddry Gene Stuart 1
Costa Nicolas Shawn Scapa 1
Andrew Lawrence Jason 1
Valerie Mahaffey Dr. Ocean 1
Michael J. Willet Lionel 2 3
Michael Hitchcock Ted Mayo 2 3
Zosia Mamet Courtney 2
Viola Davis Lynda P. Frazier 2
Joey Lauren Adams Pammy 2
Sammy Sheik Hany 2
Eddie Izzard Dr. Hattarras 3
Keir O'Donnell Evan 3
Aaron Christian Howles Noah Kane 3


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One January 18, 2009 April 5, 2009 12
Season Two March 22, 2010 June 7, 2010 12
Season Three March 28, 2011 June 20, 2011 12


DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Season Sets
The First Season December 29, 2009 1


Episode(s) as Special Features
Dexter: The Third Season August 18, 2009 4


External Sites