From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere March 12, 2004
Finale April 1, 2004
Creator Todd Holland &
Bryan Fuller
Network/Provider FOX
Style 60-minute fantasy dramedy
Company Living Dead Guy Productions,
Walking Bud,
Regency Television,
20th Century Fox Television
Filming Location Ontario, Canada
Seasons 1
Episodes 13 (9 unaired)
(List of episodes)
Origin USA

Wonderfalls (known as Maid in the Mist and Maid of the Mist during development) was a short-lived but critically acclaimed romantic comedy on FOX. The show is set in the town of Niagara Falls, where 24-year-old Jaye Tyler works as a clerk in one of the many souvenir shops. Living in a trailer park, the Brown philosophy major Jaye has refused to make anything of her life and only survives through a healthy dose of sarcasm and beer.

This all starts to change when inanimate objects suddenly begin talking to her, and tell her to do things. Reluctant at first, she quickly realizes that she really doesn't have a say in what's going on, and that she is thoroughly the Universe's bitch. And that she is most probably crazy.

Trying to balance all of this, everything starts getting really complicated when Jaye meets and falls for the bartender Eric—who went to Niagara Falls for his honeymoon, but decided to stay when he caught his wife with the bellboy.

Other important characters are Jaye's best friend Mahandra and the Tyler family: Mother Karen, father Darrin, brother Aaron and sister Sharon.

The show was executive produced by Tim Minear and was his second show canceled by FOX during its first season, the first being Firefly (and later The Inside, Drive and The Chicago Code suffered the same fate). The entire series of 13 episodes is available on DVD.



Actor Character
Billed Cast
Caroline Dhavernas Jaye Tyler
Katie Finneran Sharon Tyler
Tyron Leitso Eric Gotts
Lee Pace Aaron Tyler
William Sadler Darrin Tyler
Diana Scarwid Karen Tyler
Tracie Thoms Mahandra McGinty
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Neil Grayston Alec "The Mouthbreather"
Jewel Staite Heidi Sockett-Gotts


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One March 12, 2004 April 1, 2004 13


  • At a Glance: Additional information about the series
  • Music: A list of music played on Wonderfalls
  • Mythology: Further information about the Wonderfalls universe
  • The Muses: A list of the muses that appeared on Wonderfalls

DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Complete Series
The Complete Viewer Collection February 1, 2005 purchase 3

External Sites