From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Premiere October 3, 2001
Finale March 27, 2002
Creator CLAMP
Network/Provider WOWOW
Style 30 minute anime fantasy
Company Madhouse
Seasons 1
Episodes 25
(List of episodes)
Origin Japan

X is a dramatic anime program based on a manga published by Asuka Comics from May 1992 to March 2003. The manga ceased publication before completion due to a dispute with the publisher; it remains to be seen whether it will continue at some point in the future. Despite this, the television adaptation presents a completed story, detailing one possible outcome of the events in the manga.

The show revolves around a coming apocalypse with two possible outcomes - either all of humanity will perish but the world will live on, or humanity will survive while the world continues to suffer. Two groups of warriors are drawn together to fight for each of these causes. The Dragons of Heaven seek to protect humanity from extinction; the Dragons of Earth wish to destroy humanity in order to let the world heal the damage wrought by mankind. As the series begins, Kamui Shirou sits on the fence between the two, as he is destined to lead one side in this conflict.

Kamui eventually chooses the Dragons of Heaven, in order to protect his friends Fuma and Kotori. Unfortunately, each side must have a Kamui, and Fuma is compelled by fate to lead the Dragons of Earth - meaning that Kamui may have to kill him anyway.

The manga was also adapted into an animated theatrical film in 1996. This bears no relation to the television series.



Vocal Artist Character
Main Cast
Kenichi Suzumura Kamui Shirou
Steve Cannon (english voice)
Junichi Suwabe Fuma Monou
Crispin Freeman (english voice)
Dragons of Heaven
Mitsuaki Madono Sorata Arisugawa
Rafael Antonio Oliver (english voice)
Ryoka Yuzuki Arashi Kishu
Lia Sargent (english voice)
Kumi Sakuma Yuzuriha Nekoi
Victoria Pryne (english voice)
Tomokazu Sugita Subaru Sumeragi
Dave Lelyveld (english voice)
Yoko Soumi Karen Kasumi
Wendee Lee (english voice)
Toshiyuki Morikawa Seiichiro Aoki
David Lucas (english voice)
Aya Hisakawa Hinoto
Ellen Wilkinson (english voice)
Dragons of Earth
Michiaki Furuya Yuto Kigai
Ethan Murray (english voice)
Houko Kuwashima Satsuki Yatouji
Karen Straussman (english voice)
Masaki Aizawa Kusanagi Shiyu
James Lyon (english voice)
Otoya Kawano Seishiro Sakurazuka
Dave Mallow (english voice)
Motoko Kumai Nataku
Mona Marshall (english voice)
Yuji Ueda Kakyo Kuzuki
Terrence Stone (english voice)
Kaho Kouda Kanoe
Melissa Williamson (english voice)
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Kishô Taniyama Daisuke Saiki
Edward Villa (english voice)
Mamiko Noto Kotori Monou
Michelle Ruff (english voice)
Satsuki Yukino Hokuto Sumeragi
Julie Pickering (english voice)


Season Premiere Finale #
Season One October 3, 2002 March 27, 2002 24 + 1

DVD Releases

Title Release Date #
Episode Collections
One September 24, 2002 1


Two November 19, 2002 1


Three January 28, 2003 1


Four March 25, 2003 1


Five May 27, 2003 1


Six July 22, 2003 1


Seven September 23, 2003 1


Eight November 25, 2003 1


External Sites