From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Clamp group.jpg
Founded 1989
President Ageha Ohkawa
Notable Works Magic Knight Rayearth

Cardcaptor Sakura

CLAMP is a Japanese artist collective consisting of four women who produce epic manga (comics) series. Many of their works have been adapted into anime.

Group Biography

CLAMP started in the 1980's as a popular doujinshi (fan comics) group of 11 members, a number whittled down during the production of their first major professional work, the Hindu-scripture-based RG Veda.

Each woman has a specific duty, and the roster currently includes leader Ageha Ohkawa (writer, designer, director), Mokona (artist), Tsubaki Nekoi (artist), and Satsuki Igarashi (art assistant). Their breakthrough manga was the schoolgirl fantasy-world saga Magic Knight Rayearth.

CLAMP is known for shōjo (girl's) titles like Cardcaptor Sakura, Tokyo Babylon, and X/1999; as well as more shōnen (boy's) titles like Angelic Layer and Tsubasa RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE. Most of their manga work has been adapted into animated television programs or movies; current productions include Tsubasa Chronicle and ×××HOLiC.

Television Programs Based on Their Work


  • As part of their 15th Anniversary, all of the members of CLAMP changed their names. They were formerly known as Nanase Ohkawa, Mokona Apapa, Mick Nekoi, and Satsuki Igarashi (she changed how her name was written from 五十嵐さつき to いがらし寒月).