Site Migration

The server migration is on hold. Check here for more info.

Tales from the Crypt

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
Tales from the Crypt
Premiere June 10, 1989
Finale July 19, 1996
Based on the comic magazines originally published by
William M. Gaines
Network/Provider HBO
Style 30-minute horror anthology
Company HBO,
Tales from the Crypt Holdings
Seasons 7
Episodes 93
Origin USA

Tales from the Crypt is a classic horror/mystery series that aired from 1989 until 1996. The show was based off the EC comic book and is best known for the laugh of the storyteller, the Crypt Keeper. The show aired on HBO for 30 minutes and would feature 1 horror story (different each episode). The show was similar to The Twilight Zone in that the ending of the episodes would usually be some type of ironic twist. Although unlike The Twilight Zone, in Tales the irony usually spelt doom for main character and there was no moral message to remember.

Every episode was an adaption of one of the EC Comics titles Tales from the Crypt, The Vault of Horror, The Haunt of Fear, Shock SuspenStories, The Crypt of Terror, or Crime SuspenStories. The only exceptions aside from the last episode, a morbid retelling of The Three Little Pigs, are two adapted from Two-Fisted Tales and are actually excerpts the TV movie of the same name.

The show inspired a few spin-offs:

Additionally, three films were released under the Tales from the Crypt banner.



Actor Character Duration
Billed Cast 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
John Kassir Crypt Keeper (voice) * * * * * * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One June 10, 1989 June 28, 1989 6
Season Two April 21, 1990 July 31, 1990 18
Season Three June 15, 1991 August 28, 1991 14
Season Four June 27, 1992 September 16, 1992 14
Season Five October 2, 1993 December 8, 1993 13
Season Six October 31, 1994 January 25, 1995 15
Season Seven April 19, 1996 July 19, 1996 13

Feature Films

Title Release Date
Demon Knight January 13, 1995
Bordello of Blood August 16, 1996
Ritual September 18, 2002


DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Season Sets  (Region 1)
The Complete First Season July 12, 2005 purchase 2
The Complete Second Season October 25, 2005 purchase 2
The Complete Third Season March 21, 2006 purchase 3
The Complete Fourth Season July 25, 2006 purchase 2
The Complete Fifth Season October 31, 2006 purchase 3
The Complete Sixth Season July 24, 2007 purchase 3
The Complete Seventh Season October 23, 2007 purchase 3

External Sites