The Fugitive

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search
The Fugitive
The Fugitive-Logo.jpg
Premiere September 17, 1963
Finale August 29, 1967
Airs Returns January 6, 2020 on MeTV
Creator Roy Huggins
Network ABC
Style 60-minute crime drama
Company Quinn Martin Productions,
United Artists Television
Distributor ABC Films (until 1973)
Worldvision Enterprises (1973-1999)
Paramount Domestic Television (1999-2006)
CBS Paramount Television (2006-2007)
CBS Television Distribution (2007- )
Seasons 4
Episodes 120
Origin USA
For the remake, see The Fugitive (2000).

The Fugitive is a crime drama that aired on ABC.

David Janssen was Dr. Richard Kimble, an innocent man from the fictional town of Stafford, Indiana, who is falsely convicted for his wife's murder and sentenced to death. While headed to death row, he escapes custody following a train wreck and begins a cross-country search for a one-armed man (later revealed as Fred Johnson; played by Bill Raisch) he correctly believes to be the real killer. Like Kimble, Johnson uses other aliases while on the run.

Each week Kimble (with his grey hair died black) would turn up in a new identity and new job ("to toil at many jobs" as the narrator put it). He usually ended up helping people, even those who wanted to turn him in, often using his skills as a doctor (of medicine) to do so. Lieutenant Philip Gerard (played by Barry Morse) was the relentless force of law never more than one or two steps behind Kimble, often arriving in the front door as Kimble stepped out of the back. Jacqueline Scott played Donna Kimble Taft, Kimble's sister in a few episodes, and William Conrad was the narrator for the show. Seasons 1-3 were black and white, season 4 in color.



Actor Character Duration
Main Cast 1 2 3 4
David Janssen Dr. Richard Kimble * * * *
Supporting/Recurring Cast
Barry Morse Lt. Philip Gerard * * * *


Season  Premiere Finale #
Season One September 17, 1963 April 21, 1964 30
Season Two September 15, 1964 April 20, 1965 30
Season Three September 14, 1965 April 26, 1966 30
Season Four September 13, 1966 August 29, 1967 30


DVD Releases

Title Release Discs
Complete Series  (Region 1)
The Most Wanted Edition October 23, 2012 purchase 33
Season Sets  (Region 1)
Season One, Volume One August 14, 2007 purchase 4
Season One, Volume Two February 26, 2008 purchase 4
Season Two, Volume One June 10, 2008 purchase 4
Season Two, Volume Two March 31, 2009 purchase 4
Season Three, Volume One October 27, 2009 purchase 4
Season Three, Volume Two December 8, 2009 purchase 4
Season Four, Volume One November 2, 2010 purchase 4
Season Four, Volume Two February 15, 2011 purchase 4

External Sites