The Tonight Show

From The TV IV
Jump to: navigation, search

The Tonight Show is a late night talk show franchise that airs on NBC. There were three versions of the show under varying names before The Tonight Show become the official moniker. Since then, there have been three shows, with hosts Johnny Carson, Jay Leno and Conan O'Brien. In 2010, Leno was reinstated as host of The Tonight Show.

Title Format Buyer Year(s)
Tonight Talk Show NBC 1954–1957
Hosted by Steve Allen
Tonight! America After Dark Talk Show NBC 1957
Tonight Starring Jack Paar Talk Show NBC 1957–1962
Renamed for part of its run as The Jack Paar Show
The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson Talk Show NBC 1962–1992
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno Talk Show NBC 1992–2009
The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien Talk Show NBC 2009–2010
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno Talk Show NBC 2010–2014
The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon Talk Show NBC 2014– 

Late Night Talk Shows

NBC: The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy FallonLate Night with Seth Meyers

CBS: The Late Show with Stephen ColbertThe Late Late Show with James Corden

ABC: Jimmy Kimmel Live


The Tonight ShowLate NightThe Late Late Show